Kilimanjaro Starts: Edmonton to Calgary


Thursday 25 September

The day has finally arrived.

I’ve been waiting for this the whole year, it’s like I kept telling myself it would never happen. I certainly didn’t want to spoil this day — the day I go to Africa!

Unfortunately, I really didn’t want to go.

I was terribly hung over. Not the “oh I feel like not going to work” hung over but more like the “turn me over shoot me in the head repeatedly till I die screaming” kind of hung over.

Of course, it may have been something to do with the dehydration and the three hours of sleep. What matter, I’d only got a night of flying ahead (not to mention a stressful day of work). I am after all capable of at least that!

And I’d have gotten away with it too if it hadn’t been for those darned gits at Air Canada. Sigh. Remind me to get rid of Air Canada if I ever become Prime Minister.

With a final farewell to Jason K. who was going to take care of my apartment, cat and prepare for his wedding (!), I jumped aboard a rather noisy Dash 8 and off I went to Calgary. As the propellers pushed through clouds and the lights of Edmonton dimmed behind me, my excitement was bubbling, I was going to Africa after all these years!

Leave a Reply

